January 7, 2011

7/365

I returned to work when August was 11 weeks old.  I was lucky enough to adjust my schedule so that I only needed to work one shift a week.  And, even better, this shift was at night.  This arrangement made it reasonable for me to stay at home with him full-time and avoid any difficult childcare decisions.  I love my job as a labor and delivery nurse and feel that returning to work, continuing to be challenged medically and having a social outlet with co-workers makes me a better mother.  Around this time I met another mother in our neighborhood who has 4 children who are all school-aged (including a set of twins!).  She comes to our home occasionally to help out with August when I need some extra sleep after a shift of work.  Keeping August in our home with a trusted caregiver has been a blessing and our “nanny” seems nearly as smitten with him as we are!  Joanne is from England and we often joke about our “British nanny”.  Joanne had family in town from England for the holidays and they brought traditional English treats for August.

Leave a Reply

