June 23, 2008

Today is our last day in Cuzco, Peru.

Right now we’re sitting on a bench outside of our language school using the free wifi to make our final arrangements for Costa Rica.

We fly to Lima, Peru this evening at 4:30pm and then have an overnight flight from Lima to Miami, Florida. Tomorrow morning we will fly from Miami to San Jose, Costa Rica and then drive from San Jose to Santa Elena. I’m am sure we will be exhausted but we have two nights reserved at a beautiful hostel overlooking the Nicoya Peninsula and Monteverde Cloud Forest. The two days of solitude and rest are much anticipated and necessary before we hike into the jungle to work with Operation Mobilization.

Before we leave Peru and will likely have inconsistent internet usage, I wanted to catch you all up on photos and words from our last few days in Cuzco.

My fever and sickness turned out to be much more than I could handle. After 2 days and nights of sickness and extremely high fever that I could not control with Tylenol or Motrin, Josh and I made a visit to a local clinic. It was a frustrating experience full of waiting and confusion but we left with a bag full of medications and a diagnosis of Salmonella with a side of parasites (I know you were all interested). I then spent the next two days in bed sleeping and complaining about how much it felt like my insides wanted to be on my outsides. Josh was a dear. So was our host-mom. She continued to check in on me and bring bowls of chicken noodle soup (Peruvian-style).

As a result of my illness, I missed my last day working in the clinic as well as our official city-tour. I sent Josh on the city-tour alone (well…with our friend Hugo). He took some great pictures. Although Sacsayhuaman may not be as provocative as you were expecting!

Saturday night there were fireworks in the Plaza de Armas as a continuation of the celebrations. I knew that this is the closest that Josh and I would get to 4th of July fireworks this year but I was still too sick to go out. Luckily, the fireworks could be seen from the porch balcony of our house!

By Sunday I was feeling 80% better and determined not to waste our last couple of days in Peru, we took a taxi up to Cristo Blanco.  This is the large statue of Jesus on a mountain that overlooks all of Cuzco in an amazing panoramic.

From Cristo Blanco we walked down a LONG staircase that lead into town.  We spent the rest of the afternoon running errands, eating crepes and sitting on a bench in the Plaza de Armas watching the festivities and parades.

I am so thankful to be feeling better before we leave for Costa Rica.  It is an amazing answer to our prayers.

We believe that our biggest adventure yet awaits us.

One Response to “”

  1. jj1 said

    Sounds like an amazing trip. Were you able to find anymore free wifi in Peru… outside of the school?

    I am creating listings of free wifi locations in Peru for travelers and ex-pats (like myself). Take a look: http://freewifiwiki.net/index.php?title=Peru.

    If you have any to add please do… (its a wiki).

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

