June 10, 2008

Today I held my breath. And prayed to God. I fidgeted and was tempted to say a few Hail Marys. I reviewed my life and began to mentally compose my will.

Today I gave vaccinations in the San Jeronimo Men’s Prison. In the cells. With the prisoners.

Accompanied by one other female nurse and an unarmed guard.

Large, medieval-ish cement block rooms packed with 30-40 men laying on mats, watching tv. With many, many pictures of naked women on the walls. The prison holds over 1,000 men.

I told the nurses, “En Estados Unidos, las prisiónes son muy peligrosas.” (The prisons in the USA are very dangerous!”). They laughed and replied, “Estos son tranquilos.” (These are calm.”)

This did not help in allaying my fear.

Nearly 300 vaccinations later, I left the prison intact. By God’s grace!

Leave a Reply

