February 3, 2008

“To be a witness does not consist in engaging in propaganda, nor even in stirring people up, but in being a living mystery.  It means to live in such a way that one’s life would not make sense if God did not exist.”-Cardinal Suhard

 It was a challenging week in the hospital and I am grateful for this Saturday away. Sleeping in, running, reading, eating leftovers and enjoying Josh’s company.  Small joys that are much more treasured.  Now. 

I feel wholly insufficient, clumsy, small and so incredibly dependent on my very large God.  Who is never exactly who, what and where I think He is. 

This week I cradled and cared for an infant while I consoled his mother. She is HIV positive.  In her desperation: Have I given this to my baby?

I am insufficient and God still good.

I translated and cared for a young Mexican woman who nearly lost her life as she delivered a lifeless 17 week fetus.  In her desperation: Why my baby?

I don’t know the Spanish translation for “I’m sorry for your loss.”

 I feel clumsy and God is still good.

I watched as the social worker removed the baby from a young mother’s arms.  She has been declared unfit to be a mother and her baby will be placed up for adoption. In her desperation: Don’t take my baby.

I am small and God is still good.

Never exactly who, what and where I think He is and I am grateful.

2 Responses to “”

  1. Jen said

    Lamento la pérdida de tu niño/bebé

    I’m sorry for the loss of your child/baby

    literally:
    I lament the loss of your child/baby.

  2. huster said

    i plucked that quote out as well… it’s on my door. God IS still good…

Leave a Reply

