Joshua Tree National Park, Sequoia National Park…the ocean.

April 19, 2005

stairwell accompaniment: Guster- Live in Portland

i’m leaving for california in 24 hours.
and I will explore new land in sandals and climbing shoes
and my hair is blue (really!)
and i will find solace in airports
and i will keep my safetybelt fastened until the pilot tells me otherwise
and i will live on a steady diet of my ipod
and i will drink the sunlight and desert warmth
and my sleeping bag will feel cozy
and scripture will be on our lips
and i will wake up smiling
and the rock will feel close
and our laughter will span the country (JOY abounds in us)
and my body will ache reminding me that— i am alive
and if brokenness is inevitable…let it be my pride
and already today tastes sweet.

Leave a Reply

