Amber is the color…

February 9, 2005

stairwell accompaniment:The Foo Fighters- Everything

Yesterday was one of the days that I’m convinced God sneaks extra hours into. Definitely much more that 24. February 8th became one of those days I dread before it arrives and by nature I’m not a stress-filled person. My appointments, meetings and obligations seemed so much more pressing than my attention span, energy and ability to serve would accommodate. I have a 20 minute commute to work most days and I spend each and every one of those minutes basking the cocoon-like warmth of my heated seats singing loudly– completely drowning out this world. Yesterday I didn’t. I shut off my consistently blaring radio and I felt the silence. In my attempt to “pray without ceasing” I often pray aloud. It keeps my mind focused and holds me accountable to how I am approaching God. I conversed with God. Adoration. Confession. Thanksgiving. And I arrived at work. Arrived with the outlook I long to wake up with each morning- It’s not about me. And the supplication can wait because I have all I need and more.

February 9th came all too quickly.

2 Responses to “Amber is the color…”

  1. Kristi said

    Ahh..I love those times.
    In MY half hour commute to work, I’ve been doing the same thing this week. Silence. Seems when I shut my Cavalier door, it’s the only place I can control the stimuli and atmosphere. And I have been choosing to let it be just me and the still small voice, whatever it leads my mind to ponder or pray.

  2. Schmanda said

    i miss you both, my roomates! we need to spend time together SOON…thai 9 anyone?? friday?? maybe after gospel mission?? anyway, i want to “talk God” with you gals and catch up. just looking for that understanding that only comes from the other ladies of 626 Creighton Ave.

    love you.

    oh, and amber…i definitely need to expand with you – april is a really long way away. =) its not about me. and heck, i’ve done another trip that way, right? it could never be THAT bad. let’s converse with God about it.

Leave a Reply

