October 12, 2004

stairwell accompaniment: Damien Rice-B sides

Admitting Today

I don’t want to be ruled by my expectations-wanting painless, magic, perfect love and romance. Crazy love-sick rolling and toppling.

(But you see I do.)

I want him to fight for me. I want a 60 cent chinese ruby ring and the other little sweet gifts. I’ve noticed that I like those who I want to be better for.

I am a woman who wants to only weigh 123 pounds and sometimes thinks that could be the answer. I am a woman who likes her stomach flat and wants to seem like it doesn’t matter all that much. I am a woman who can feel so lonely at the most unexpected times and sometimes I can’t ask directly or tell you how upset I really feel and I hope I’ll grow out of it. I am a woman who sometimes forgets about firey red trees and sleeping in the sun. I want wonder.

I want treasures. I want similar souls. I want passionate yesses. I want to be blown away. I want to trust. I want calm gladness and prayers and deep, true breaths.

I want to hear jazz with my eyes closed and dig my toes into the sand dancing. I want to climb to the summit and yell and sleep under the stars. I want to laugh my head off and play marbles and sleep in and eat croisants in bed with butter and nutella and spill tea and wear lace and trip holding your hand

because I am listening so closely.

One Response to “”

  1. Kristi said

    Beautifully honest.

Leave a Reply

