Morphine

September 8, 2004

stairwell accompaniment: Nick Drake

Sitting here in room 5326 at Good Samaritan Hospital in lovely Dayton, Ohio. Another incredibly long day at work followed by an evening at the hospital with my brother. He’s not doing much better, still running a high fever. I came with my raspy, sore throat voice and achy hands covered in pain relieving pathches to keep him company and add more of his ramblings to the quote board I started for him. My favorite so far (that doesn’t have to do with a bodily function) is what he said when he first saw his incisions. He, in a still medicated state of mind, somewhat jokingly said, “Where’s my baby?!?”

Classic.

Leave a Reply

