punks

August 28, 2004

stairwell accompaniment:Rilo Kiley

Remember this scene:

Michelle: Listen you little spazoids! I know where you live and I’ve seen where you sleep. I swear that your mothers will cry when they see what I’ve done to you!

Tommy: You kids better pray to the god of skinny punks this wind doesn’t pick up, cuz if it does I’m gonna sail over there and shove an oar up your a**.

Yes, a Tommy Boy classic. I only draw attention to this because it is the best representation of my reaction to the teenage boys who sit on their porch across the street from my house and upon my coming and going like to pepper the air between our houses with derogatory, adolescent sexual inuendos. As much as I pitty those younger than I when the beginning of yet another school year rolls around and our normally child-packed streets and sidewalks become devoid of bikes and skateboards, this year I felt as if I was counting down the days until our two neighbor boys would abandon their porch perches for school desks. However,the school day of classroom sitting, apparerently, is not long enough to keep them from resting on the porch every evening as I arrive home.

But today was a particularly long and trying day and I simply did not have the patience to let their unwelcome comments and gestures pass unquestioned. And, as I stated above, the scene turned ugly quickly. And I’m sure the two are now adequately educated on what not to say to a lady and exactly what the consequences of forgetting would bring.

3 Responses to “punks”

  1. Anonymous said

    amber i am so glad you said something! i totally hve to hear how the scene played out. i’m so curious i can hardly stand it! =) plus i totally appreciate the movie quotes. they made me smile. just wanted to say hi and thanks for your blog, because it keeps me in touch with wht’s actually happening in your day to day life at home. priceless! love ya!

    your sailing friend and missing roomie,
    amanda

  2. Jon said

    Yes!! I demand details!

  3. Kristi said

    Ohh, Amber. I can’t wait to hear details either. Those boys…what will they be like in HS? Ugh, I shudder to think. I’m glad you said something, as it’s all been starting up again. Teenage angst. We could so do without it…

Leave a Reply

