sunbathing

May 9, 2004

hear it in the stairwell:Eisley-laughing city

Nearly eight years ago I discovered an artist names Sabrina Ward Harrison (check her out) and in the first book she published I found a poem that I fell in love with. Since that first day I read it I have had a copy of it in every journal I have kept–sadly, I just realized that there’s no mention of it here. No longer…

Live

If I had my life to live over I’d try to make more

mistakes next time. I would relax. I would limber up.

I’d be sillier then I have been on trips. I know of

a very few things I would take seriously.

I would be less hygenic. I would take more chances.

I would take more trips.

I would climb more mountians, swim more rivers,

and watch more sunsets.

I would burn more gasoline and eat more ice cream

and less beans.

I would have actual troubles and fewer imaginary ones.

you see I’m one of those people who lives sensibly

and sanely hour after hour, day after day.

oh, I’ve had my moments, and if I had my life to live over

I’d have more of them- infact-I’d have nothing else.

just moments one after another

instead of living so many years ahead ech day.

I’ve been one of those people who never goes anywhere

without a thermometer, hot water bottle, rain coat

and parachute.

If I had my life to live over I’d go places and do

things and travel lighter then I have.

If I had my life to live over I would start

barefoot earlier in the spring and stay that way

later in the fall. I would play hookey more.

I wouldn’t make such good grades, except by accident.

I’d ride more merry-go-rounds. I’d pick more daisies.

Madeline Stair age 85

Leave a Reply

